8 Enlightening Books like Siddhartha

Book Suggestions

Josh

Hermann Hesse is famous for his intellectual works. His books encompass a realm of philosophies and theories about life. All incorporated in a logical way. His famous novel Siddhartha has been and is still a public favorite. It has inspired many readers to achieve their dreams. Even served as a guide for many on their spiritual journey.  The insightful knowledge it provides is even  enough for a passive reader to get motivation to utilize his full potential.

The book, Siddhartha revolves around an Indian man who has all luxury and comfort but his quest for knowledge and understanding of his existence makes him a wanderer. Leaving all the privileges, he departs on a self-discovery journey. The book touches upon themes of  identity, existence, meaning of life, spirituality, and finding the truth. 

The list of  books given below resembles in themes and stories the book Siddhartha. If you enjoyed and loved Siddhartha then you will definitely love reading them, too. 

1.The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

1.The Alchemist by Paulo CoelhoThe Alchemist is a story of a man, Santiago struggling to pursue his dreams. His journey presented in the novel is both allegorical and symbolic on many levels. Both  his physical and inner journey in pursuit to fulfill his personal legend provides a treasure of knowledge and wisdom to readers. Just like Siddhartha, Santiago came across different people and all of them helped him in self discovery and self realization. If you loved reading about spirituality and self-discovery in Siddhartha then you will love reading such themes in The Alchemist.

8 Illuminating Books Like Alchemist

 

 

 

 

 

 

2.Ishmael by Daniel Quinn

2.Ishmael by Daniel QuinnIshmael by Daniel Quinn is an ideal book that touches upon different themes related to modern times like existentialism or purpose of life. Besides, giving a taste of phenomenology it touches upon the nature of consciousness. Similar to Siddhartha, Ishmael through interactions of characters establishes discourses around different stories. The story mainly revolves around a man, Ted who is wandering to quest his thirst of understanding the world and human existence. In this process, he comes across an enlightened professor, Ishmael, who assists Ted in satisfying his thirst.

 

 

 

 

 

3.The Celestine Prophecy by James Redfield

3.The Celestine Prophecy by James RedfieldThe Celestine Prophecy by James Redfield is an absolute delight to read. Bringing together both religious and modern ideas to a discussion is not easy. However, James Redsfiled through the journey of John interconnected both the ideas beautifully. John’s journey revolves around finding the Celestine Prophecy manuscript. During this adventure he encounters many sages who further emphasize upon  the ideas of manuscripts, which are; achieving your potential, importance of the present moment, and significance of consciousness. This one is an important addition to your guidance of discovering yourself. 

 

 

 

 

 

4.Meditations By Marcus Aurelius

4.Meditations By Marcus AureliusMeditations by Marcus Aurelius is  a highly acclaimed book. If you love Siddharth and never come across or read Meditations then there is ambiguity in your claim. Meditations like a mentor or guide that  will help you  throughout your life.  Besides,  it is written in the second century AD  by a man as a self diary to himself to pass or overcome hard times both emotionally and physically of the time he was living in. . This book, like meditation, helps you deal and manage your everyday life. Besides, it gives an amazing analysis and insight of the inner self. If you are someone who would like to develop taste in books like Siddhartha then this is a must read.

Exploring The Enchanting World Of Magical Realism Through Books

 

 

 

 

5 . Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert Pirsig 

5 . Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert Pirsig Robert Pirsig through a journey of father and son on a motorbike explains the journey of life and things essential to life like art and science.  Art and science are integral parts of life. In order to have a peaceful life, one must understand both, particularly its significance in life. Besides, we often see them in contradiction to our religious beliefs. Therefore, I think one should read Zen and the Art of Motorcycle to live a true and meaningful life. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6.Steppenwolf by Hermann Hesse  

6.Steppenwolf by Hermann Hesse  Hermann Hesse is a genius beyond any limitations. Steppenwolf is a story that leaves you with strange satisfaction. Anyone who has read Siddhartha would like to read Steppenwolf because it talks about acceptance. Through the intellectual journey of Harry, it provides philosophical reflection of life and everything linked with existence. In addition, it draws upon contradictory views of life through major characters i.e Harry and Hermine. Beside, the book incorporates both eastern and western philosophy. Steppenwolf is an interesting book to uncover basic human questions related to existence and purpose of living. 

 

 

 

 

 

7.The Four Noble Truths by the Dalai Lama 

7.The Four Noble Truths by the Dalai Lama The Four Noble Truths by The Dalai Lama is an astonishing book about the  four noble truths taught in Buddhism. Written by the spiritual leader of the Tibetan people, it talks about relative and absolute compassion. Though it apparently is about Buddhism teachings, its principles and teachings can be adopted by many including non-buddhists. Most importantly, it talks about finding the truth within yourself which actually  is finding  your true potential. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8.The Art of Happiness by Dalai Lama

8.The Art of Happiness by Dalai LamaAnother one by the Dalai Lama, The Art of Happiness. As the title suggests, it talks about happiness and peace in life. However, the philosophy of happiness presented in it is really unique. Through stories and meditations, the author explains the concept of happiness. Further he connects it with the existence of being. The Art of Happiness is an important read because it helps readers to overcome the obstacles they are going to face in long   journey of life.

Leave a Comment